The Incubation Period

 Image

I’m the reason your children die young.
I’m the reason your elders suffer.
I’m the reason you’re in a wheelchair.
I’m the reason your family starve.
I’m the reason you’ll always be wrong.
I’m the reason you’ll be a coward.
I’m the reason you’re writing these lines.

Endless.
Fucking.
Lines.

I’m a disaster waiting to happen.

I’m the reason you’ll get liver poisoning.
I’m the reason you’ll get lung cancer.
I’m the reason you’ll die lonely.
I’m the reason they’ll find you three weeks.
after your death.
I’m the reason your ink scratches lyrical
of your love for strangers.
I’m the reason there’s no happy item at the
end of the news.

I’m the misery.
I’m the sadness.
I’m misery.
I’m sadness.
Misery.
Sadness.
Fucking misery.
Fucking sadness.

I’m the reason you’ve cut lines into your skin.
I’m the reason you’ve learned how
to make a noose.
I’m the reason you discovered charcoal
burning.
I’m the reason you want it to be
painless.

I’m the reason you want it all to end.

About DickensianJack

Born in Wolverhampton in November '93, moved to Huddersfield in September 2012. Studying at the University of Huddersfield. In love with the town - simple as that. As for the blog itself, I've been doing bits and pieces of writing (with varying quality) for a few years. A friend suggested I start a blog to share my work. Most of the stuff on here is poems, but there's other work interspersed on the page. Feel free to leave any comments on my work. Twitter: @DickensianJack (Jack Dickens) Facebook: www.facebook.com/dickensianjack Cheers, enjoy.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

