In Circles

Never ask me to write you love letters,
Never ask me to pose for photographs,
I’ve nothing to give so simply don’t ask.

I’m a crack in the window,
A stain on the floor,
Something old and worthless you’ve no use for.

I’ll drain the life from a cut in your lips
Because I’ve nothing here but to exist.
I won’t flourish into a metaphor
for those born in my year,
I will not see all
as all will not see me,
My world will be engraved
on a bullet ricocheting
through holes in my memory,
all too much to make sense of.
I will not remember the pleasantries,
only the addictions.
I will not obsess about
the world changing,
I will remember you in
fictional depictions.

I will mean no offense
when I take up defense
of myself as the only truth,
And I will not share this
damage limitation with you.

//////

This is something written for my friend Chris McLaren’s electronic music piece (look him up on YouTube, he’s a fucking awesome musician). The recorded version of this will probably be out and about in a month or so.

Granted, this is an amalgamation and a mess-about-with of two previous pieces. I’m lazy, shoot me.

@DickensianJack

About DickensianJack

Born in Wolverhampton in November '93, moved to Huddersfield in September 2012. Studying at the University of Huddersfield. In love with the town - simple as that. As for the blog itself, I've been doing bits and pieces of writing (with varying quality) for a few years. A friend suggested I start a blog to share my work. Most of the stuff on here is poems, but there's other work interspersed on the page. Feel free to leave any comments on my work. Twitter: @DickensianJack (Jack Dickens) Facebook: www.facebook.com/dickensianjack Cheers, enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

